The Story of the Timepiece: A Collection of Short Stories

Paper Type: Book Print Paper | Size: 216mm x 140mm
Black and white
ISBN-10: 93-86906-98-4 | ISBN-13: 978-93-86906-98-4


The Story of the Timepiece: A Collection of Short Stories, written by award-winning writer S.K. Pottekkat, aptly showcases the author’s penchant for melding realism with romanticism. These short stories, Pottekkat’s favourite medium of creative expression, touch upon themes of universal interest. Written in the author’s unique style, both prosaic and poetic, they depict complex characters and human relationships in realistic, everyday situations, often reflecting the social consciousness of the  pre-Independence period. 

Sankarankutty  Pottekkat
Sankarankutty Pottekkat

Sankarankutty Pottekkat, popularly known as S.K. Pottekat, is an iconic Malayalam writer. He is the author of nearly 60 books which include 10 novels, 24 collections of short stories, and 18 travelogues.Pottekkat won the Kerala Sahitya Academy Award in 1961 for the novel Oru Theruvinte Katha (The Story of a Street). His autobiographical novel Oru Desathinte Katha (The Story of a Locale) won, in succession, the Kerala Sahitya Academy Award (1971), the Kendra Sahitya Award (1977), and the Jnanpith Award (1980). His works have been translated into English, Italian, Russian, German, and Czech, as well as all major Indian languages. 

Venugopal  Menon
Venugopal Menon

Venugopal Menon retired from a career in Sales and Marketing in 2012, running the training unit of an engineering conglomerate, where his writing and workshopping skills were  widely appreciated. He lives in Kochi, publishes occasionally in the national media, and  shares with the author a profound empathy for the downtrodden.